US removed Haiti from black list of human trafficking countries

Posted by on Tuesday, June 27, 2017 Under: Diplomacy
Image result for Rex Tillerson

The United States has removed Haiti from its black list of countries that do not do enough to combat human trafficking; while adding China, Russia and others to the infamous list that could lead to countries included being sanctioned. Such as freezing of non-humanitarian and non-commercial aid or refusing to receive loans from multilateral institutions

Haiti was added to the list last year by the US State Department, but the commitment to fight human trafficking which President Moise personally made to the US Secretary of homeland security John Kelly during his visit in Haiti as well as to the American Vice-president Mike Pence at their meeting in Miami, has led to the removal. The Haitian President had also asked US authorities to help Haiti finance and train its coastguard to help curb the phenomenon.

The black list of the US Department of State's annual report on human trafficking in the world, published on Tuesday,included countries such as China, Venezuela, Belize, Russia, North Korea, Iran, Syria, among others. "Human trafficking is, unfortunately, as old as humanity. Our hope is that the twenty-first century will be the last century with human trafficking," said US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson at the presentation of the report.

The report accuses China of "not adequately meeting minimum standards for the elimination of trafficking" of people and "making no significant efforts" to achieve this.

"Complicity in Forced Labor"

 The document cites indications of "Chinese government complicity in forced labor," including in the Xinjiang region, where local authorities allegedly "coerced Uighur men and women to engage in forced labor. "

 In the "black list" of the report, in addition to the countries already mentioned, Belarus, Burundi, Central African Republic, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, South Sudan, Sudan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

In : Diplomacy 

eXTReMe Tracker